i know what you mean!

i think it’s cute :)

Posted on: November 1, 2006

Monday morning I had the darnest time trying to remember where I put my keys, last seen on Friday.  This is not out of character for me.  In fact, I always waste precious minutes each morning in search of either my wallet or my keys, and some really frantic mornings, both.  I say this line to Son at least once a month, lest he forgets:  “Son, I can’t find my wallet/keys/money.”  Inevitably, the first line out of his mouth would be, “Where did you last put it?”  which drives me crazy, because come on, given the experiences I have had in losing things, of course I have perfected my art of searching for them.  First I try to remember when was the last time I had them in my hands, and where I was.  Then I retrace all my steps and activities the previous evening, plus all the possible places I could have been with that lost object. Then I look at all the places where I usually put such things.  Then I look at all the places where I had found my things in the past.  And lastly, I look in places adjacent to all the places mentioned above, just in case it got moved.  By the time I’m distressingly waking Son up and telling him I can’t find my stuffs, the last suggestion I want to hear is “where did you last put it?”  Anyways, it’s one of those regular routines, usually ending with Son driving me to work, because I was late for BART.  Nowadays, since he leaves at 6:30, I’m pretty much screwed if I can’t find my stuffs.

Anyways, back to the keys, I ended up grabbing the spare keys and ran to work instead, telling myself that I would look for my set of keys that evening.  Which was before I decided that I would cook 6 quarts of stuffed bitter melon soup and 7 quarts of sour mustard soup while doing the dishes, cleaning the kitchen, and grocery shopping.  Tuesday morning, no keys.  But I was determined to find my keys on Halloween, and so that was the first thing I did when I got home.  I found them on Son’s study desk, where I suspected I put them on Friday (under his Board books).  Being myself, I simply moved the books aside and left the keys exactly where they were (better than moving them and have no clue where I will have moved them to the next morning).

Wednesday at the wee hour of 6:30 a.m., Son came into the room dressed ready for the hospital, and he dropped my keys next to the alarm clock, telling me “hey I put your keys here for you OK?”  I didn’t say anything to him about not finding my keys these past 2 days, how did he know?  It’s cute.  It’s one of those moment where I feel so understood and so well cared for.

picture: cats on window, sunday morning

Leave a Reply

happenings right now

  • Từng này tuổi rồi mỗi lần xác địng bên phải bên trái vẫn phải tìm xem tay nào cầm viết. Tiếng Tàu thì luôn không phân biệt được Tả và Hữu 5 months ago
  • Wào, hai hôm nay "Váy Công Chúa" ngày nào cũng đăng 2 chương một. 5 months ago
  • wow, vậy mà chúng nó cũng khoá chương 50, bịnh thật 6 months ago

Later!

November 2006
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
