i know what you mean!

food

Posted on: May 3, 2010

Now that May is eating at least 2 full meals a day, I’m busy cooking again. The child is definitely showing preferences and expressing her own taste. For the most part I have nothing to complain. She tends to eat just a tiny bit of veggies and fruits, and then toss the rest to the ground or spit them out. She does, however, eat them in pureed form or very well cooked form. Funny how they love tossing you a curve ball, so the saying goes. So I’ve been researching recipes. I’m still trying not to mix everything up into one dish of super nutritious goo. So far May has eatend green pea soup, minestrone, califlower and white beans, chayote and carrots, split peas soup. I generally eat the same soup she does, often her left overs, just so I feel more motivated to cook healthy AND tasty food for her. She dislikes lentils. I don’t blame her, both Son and I don’t eat it. But I’ll work hard on making something tasty that has lentils, and we’ll keep on eating it until May joins in.

Tonight’s dinner had rice (cooked a bit soggy) and ground pork braised in shallot and apple compote It’s basically the same idea as the Korean BBQ marinade – pulverize the vegetable and fruit, then marinate. May is in her not eating apples or most fruits phase, hence I use them to marinate her meats. For soup, there was carrot and apple soup – I found the recipe just before I began cooking, and it’s a keeper. I was making apple sauce for May at the same time, so I just scooped some of the apples from that batch out and added to the carrot soup. I used Gala apples because that was all I had on hand. Will definitely make this soup at least once a month for the whole family.

original author: Brian Hagiwara

Serves: 8 (my batch yielded 1 adult serving)
Total Time: 55 min
Cook Time: 20 min

* 2 tablespoon(s) margarine or butter ( I used 1 tbsp fresh butter)
* 1 large onion, coarsely chopped (I used 1/4 medium onion)
* 3 medium Golden Delicious apples (I used about 1/2 small Gala apple)
* 2 pound(s) carrots (I used 2 medium sized carrots)
* 2 can(s) (14 1/2 ounces each) chicken broth or vegetable broth (I used freshly made chicken broth with just chicken in it, no other ingredients)
* 1 tablespoon(s) sugar (I used a pinch)
* 1 teaspoon(s) salt (I used a pinch)
* 1 teaspoon(s) peeled and grated fresh ginger (I just cut a piece of ginger and tossed it into the broth for 10 minutes then took it out)
* Half-and-half or heavy cream for garnish (didn’t use any)
* Fresh chives for garnish

Directions

1. In 5-quart Dutch oven, melt margarine or butter over medium heat. Add onion and cook 12 minutes or until tender and golden, stirring occasionally.
2. Meanwhile, peel apples and carrots. Cut each apple in half and use melon baller to remove core. Cut apples and carrots into 1-inch chunks.
3. Into onion in Dutch oven, stir apples, carrots, broth, sugar, salt, ginger, and 2 cups water; heat to boiling over high heat. Reduce heat to low; cover and simmer 20 minutes or until carrots are very tender.
4. Remove Dutch oven from heat. Following manufacturer’s directions, use hand blender to puree mixture in Dutch oven until very smooth. Serve soup with a swirl of half-and-half if you like. Garnish with fresh chives.

Source: Good Housekeeping magazine.

I cooked the 3 apples separately in water with a tsp of sugar added to make apple sauce; at the same time, I simmered the carrots in chicken broth with some apple peels. When everything was cooked, I put carrots, broth, apples, and sauteed onions into the mini food processor and pulverized everything. I think it was about 1.5 cup of broth for 2 carrots and 1/2 apple. Then i put in just a dash of seasalt and served with freshly ground pepper.

The temperature here today was 90+ degrees with 60+% humidity. Hope it will drop soon so we can return to the playground.

I’m not a stranger to restaurant food, but damn it, this godforsaken region serves their food with heart attack in mind. Cardiologists would do very well here. All the run of the mill food around here has one taste: salty. Especially their soups. I think the only few places where the soups were not overtly salty were $$$$ restaurants, the ones that charge you corkage fees and $30-$50 per main dish. Chinese food, Thai food, korean food – all salty!! Can’t vouch for Japanese food because so far we have only been to Japanese restaurants that are owned and cooked by Vietnamese, Chinese, and Korean people. I was just at Panera this afternoon with May, calling their cream of chicken and wild rice soup, thinking May might eat some of that. She ended up with a load of my cookie instead, because the soup was so salty I didn’t want to feed her any.

1 Response to "food"

I will borrow these recipes!

Leave a Reply

happenings right now

  • Từng này tuổi rồi mỗi lần xác địng bên phải bên trái vẫn phải tìm xem tay nào cầm viết. Tiếng Tàu thì luôn không phân biệt được Tả và Hữu 5 months ago
  • Wào, hai hôm nay "Váy Công Chúa" ngày nào cũng đăng 2 chương một. 6 months ago
  • wow, vậy mà chúng nó cũng khoá chương 50, bịnh thật 6 months ago

Later!

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
