i know what you mean!

gourmet cook too!!

Posted on: May 24, 2010

Me: look, look what I’ve made for May today! Isn’t it awesome? I got bay scallops in it too!
Son: great
Me: taste it, good huh?
Son: yeah, good, yum…. What’s for us? What are we eating for dinner?
me: …uhh…I don’t know… There’s left over rice… Look around or something. Maybe there’s some Pho broth left in the freezer…. and I think some left over canh from last week…
just kidding!! We eat May’s food once the left overs are cleared.
Been busy cooking this weekend because we are moving so I need to stock up. First I made a big pot of chicken noodle soup and froze 3 pints in the freezer. Then today I made some more stocks with ribs and veggies, used part of it to make rice porridge, froze the rest. Also got a nice piece of brisket from the farmer’s market on Friday, so I simmered it and froze the stock. This is because we’ll be busy moving this next week, so I want to make sure we have nutritious food readily available for May. I’m just noting some info here for Trang, the busy super mom, in case she needs some quick ideals for the little one’s dinner:

chicken noodle soup (all ingredients organic)
– 1 small chicken
– carrots
– celery
– chayotes
– onions
– broccoli (crowns and stems)
olive oil and/or butter
pepper, salt, fish salt
pasta of choice

Chop up everything, simmer together in a big pot the following: chicken, carrots, celery, chayote with a dash of salt and a few peppercorns up to 3 hours (can be done in a slow cooker). In a pan, heat up some oil and/or butter, add the minced onion, stir, cook until translucent and then reduce heat to low and let carmelize for up to 1 hour if you have time. This process makes the onions turn really really sweet. Or if you don’t have time, just, you know, whatever. When done, stir the onions into the soup, add just a dash of fish sauce if you like. I cook the pasta by meal so that it doesn’t turn soggy in the soup.

For porridge, I simmered spare ribs (left the whole rack in tact, no need to chop) with celery, carrots, daikon radish, salted radish, onion, a few peppercorns and a small piece of rock sugar. Then I stirred in cooked rice (1 part brown 3 parts white), covered the pot and let simmer over very low heat. When finish, I took out the celery stalks, salted radish and daikon to toss, leaving just the carrots and bits of the onion. I took out most of the soup to save for later use, leaving just a bit over 1 serving in the pot. I added 5 pieces of small bay scallops – caught sustainably off the coast of Argentina (this wholesome shit costed me $9 for 3 oz!) and cooked for a bit, taking care not to overcook the scallops. With a dash of fish sauce and a sprinkle of fried shallots, I served this dish to her highness who promptly inhaled the whole bowl. It should not taste salty like the way we like our food to be salty.

May likes scallops and I prefer to serve it to her over fish, because the quality of fish here in York sucks. It’s considered a pretty healthy food.

I’ll figure out what to do with the beef broth later this week.

Also, Trang, dear, you can make your own oatmeals and that will save you lots of money, if you like. What I do is I guy the old fashioned rolled oats, cooked it in water (something like 2 tbsp to 1 cup of water) stirring every now and then for about 20 minutes. It will turn into congee – same consistency, same appearance. May doesn’t eat much fruits right now, so I typically add raisins or prunes or pear or apples into the pot. For sweeteners I use pure local maple syrup. Molasses would work too. Sometimes I spice it up with ground nutmeg or cinnamon occasionally. I’ve heard that canned pumpkin mixes well too. This would make about 2.5 servings. I save that in a glass jar and reheat in the microwave. You can store this in the fridge for up to 1 week. When you reheat and it’s too hot, just add some cold milk. This is pretty much a staple at our house. May eats it about 4x/week.

4 Responses to "gourmet cook too!!"

thanks love!

I took notes.

Miss May…will we see you guys next week?

yes ! come over we have a new place.

dùng scallop khô bỏ vào nấu chung với nồi soup gà thơm & ngọt lắm bòn.

bòn ơi, chicken soup recipe của em thật hấp dẩn …Mai mốt nhớ cho cái hình luôn nha, cộng thêm bonus người đẹp SM luôn🙂

Leave a Reply

happenings right now

  • Từng này tuổi rồi mỗi lần xác địng bên phải bên trái vẫn phải tìm xem tay nào cầm viết. Tiếng Tàu thì luôn không phân biệt được Tả và Hữu 5 months ago
  • Wào, hai hôm nay "Váy Công Chúa" ngày nào cũng đăng 2 chương một. 6 months ago
  • wow, vậy mà chúng nó cũng khoá chương 50, bịnh thật 6 months ago

Later!

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
