i know what you mean!

hmm…

Posted on: November 15, 2010

I used to be a purist cook many moons ago with the belief that I must master the fundamentals in order to become a better cook. So I would labor for hours doing really tedious things that purist cooks have outlined for various dishes, especially noodle stocks. Take bu’n bo`, the Vietnamese spicy beef noodle soup hailed from the central region of Hue. I made quite a few “purist” versions, including one that required me to simmer the marrow bones for hours like pho, then bind the shanks prior to cooking, etc., etc.. Through it all, I have learned quite a few things, one of them being “hmm… the stock is still missing some umph.” Like it would taste good, but the drool factor was missing. Only twice did I make really awesome drools-worthy stocks, and both of those times were when I didn’t have all the necessary ingredients or extra energy to be meticulous. The current pot of stock I have in my fridge is one of the two. To begin with, I couldn’t get a banana shank. Technically I could drive to Lancaster to grab one. But I didn’t feel like driving there just for that, so I went to the butcher shop and got their “soup bones” which have some shanks attached, but not the whole boneless shanks. Oh well, whatever. I got a big honking block of it, lugged it home, and between that pot of bu’n bo` and the neighboring pot of Pho i was making, I got enough stuffs to make the stock substantial.

While cooking, I was about to throw away some daikon that had been simmering in chicken broth when I thought, oh well, what the heck, and tossed those daikons into the bu’n bo` stockpot. Then a few charred onions, some beef brisket found in the freezer… I don’t remember what else I threw in there, with the lemongrass being the final addition. In the end, the stock came out great.

Maybe next time I should just scrap the purist idea and save myself some money and energy.

Leave a Reply

happenings right now

  • Từng này tuổi rồi mỗi lần xác địng bên phải bên trái vẫn phải tìm xem tay nào cầm viết. Tiếng Tàu thì luôn không phân biệt được Tả và Hữu 5 months ago
  • Wào, hai hôm nay "Váy Công Chúa" ngày nào cũng đăng 2 chương một. 6 months ago
  • wow, vậy mà chúng nó cũng khoá chương 50, bịnh thật 6 months ago

Later!

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
