i know what you mean!

life in bullet points

Posted on: November 20, 2012

  • this is a great website for new parents
  • Saturday 2 things happened: 1 we introduced the bottle (Son did).  He just sort of unceremoniously shoved a glass dr. Brown’s bottle in, and Tim just took 1.5 oz in 5 minutes without any protest or discernment.  Unlike his sister, who traumatized me.  The 2nd thing was, I left it to Son to soothe Tim to sleep, and because I have forgotten the 60-90 minutes rule, Tim was overtired to start with, and Son just got a really unhappy & tired baby the whole 1.5 hr that I took May out for a short trip.  By the time I got back, the damage was already done.  Tim slept miserably for the rest of the day, napping in short shallow snatches here and there, then up for another 2.5 hrs of partying from 3-5a.m.
  • Sunday was devoted to undoing the damange, so I was doing whatever it took to restore Tim’s sleep.  Son was wearing him in the Moby by the end of the day – he didn’t sleep exceptionally well, but he got quite a bit of naps in, and also managed to break his party trend between the hours of 2am-5am.  Today I followed the 90 minute sleep program and it worked well.  He did 2.5+ hrs in the bassinet from 9-11:40a.m., then went to bed with me for 45 minutes at 1pm, got transferred to bassinet at 2pm, slept until 3pm.  Went down for a cat nap at 4:30pm, I held him and nursed him off/on til 5, he slept from 5-6:10ish in bassinet, then down again at 7:45pm in our shared bed where he will sleep with me for the rest of the night.
  • Tim generally does 3 hrs intervals at night, sometimes a bit less.  I typically hold him for 20-30 minutes in bed, then place him down next to me.  At 3 weeks, he gives me about 4 hrs of sleep on a bad night and 6 hours of sleep on a good night.  I could sleep in more but I try to hang out with May upstairs when Tim takes his first nap.  I catch up with a nap in the afternoon for about 1 hour when May is at home.  When she goes to school, I also try to nap.
  • Pumping at least 1-2 times/day so Son can bottle feed Tim when he comes home from work.
  • May’s up to a new trick: she deliberately hides (her own) things when I’m busy nursing Tim, and then comes in asking me about those things very innocently.  I fell for it at least 3-4 times already, today she hid her horse and then came asking me for help locating it.  I went downstairs and found it artfully hidden under another stuffed animal pillow.  When I asked her, she admitted that she hid it, but didn’t offer an explanation.  I will need to talk to her about it again.
  • May’s sick.  SEriously, I saw 2 boys coughing their lungs out at her school on Friday, and then Monday morning, voila, May  has stuffy nose and a cough.  Grrrrr.  I’m sending her right back to school tomorrow to recycle the germs.
  • Seriously, APS, we are the exhausted  parents of an infant, and you gave us a snack day where you have a special event going on and an item that requires us to BAKE???  What the hell??
  • Tim is into staring this week.  As of 4 days ago, he is mesmerized by the pattern on my nursing top, and will gladly look around if I prop him up on a pillow.  I need to remind Son to bring in his bouncer/rocker from the garage.
  • I think Tim is over 10 lbs now, eating every 2.5 hours on average, taking in about 3-4 oz.  I think sometimes he eats a bit too much and the food travels back up to his throat, causing him to cry in his sleep. If I could do it all over, I think I would buy the Fisher Price Rock & Play thingie.  It looks awesome.
  • Tim prefers to spit out the boob when he’s done with nursing and want to sleep.  May rarely did that, she just kept on sucking until the boob fell out of her mouth.
  • Son passed the Board, now we can all live. Praise the lord.

Leave a Reply

happenings right now

  • Từng này tuổi rồi mỗi lần xác địng bên phải bên trái vẫn phải tìm xem tay nào cầm viết. Tiếng Tàu thì luôn không phân biệt được Tả và Hữu 5 months ago
  • Wào, hai hôm nay "Váy Công Chúa" ngày nào cũng đăng 2 chương một. 6 months ago
  • wow, vậy mà chúng nó cũng khoá chương 50, bịnh thật 6 months ago

Later!

November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
